Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
XML-RPC & Digg API

[eluser]bagwaa[/eluser]
I have been playing around with the digg api and xml-rpc calls from inside CI, however I am having a few problems, I am pretty sure this is just down to the fact that I am pretty new to ths digg api AND xml-rpc, so the chance of me doing something idiotic at the moment is quite high.

Anyway, I have created a basic controller, and all I want to be able todo is make an XML-RPC call to the digg api and pull back some very basic information that I can then disect.

As I understand it I have to supply a few things and then just make the call, here is my first attempt at my controller...

class Dashboard extends controller {
function Dashboard() {
parent::Controller();
$this->load->library('xmlrpc');
}

function myCall() {
$url = 'http://services.digg.com/stories/topic/programming?appkey=http://my.domain.com';
$this->xmlrpc->set_debug(TRUE);
$this->xmlrpc->server($url, 80);
$this->xmlrpc->method('/stories/topic/programming');

if ( ! $this->xmlrpc->send_request()) {
echo $this->xmlrpc->display_error();
}
}
}

I am getting back the data in the debug information, but the error that I am getting is :-

---Invalid Return--- Top level XML-RPC element is missing---Invalid Return--- The XML data receieved was either invalid or not in the correct form for XML-RPC. Turn on debugging to examine the XML data further. Top level XML-RPC element is missing

Am I on the right track here? it feels like im off-track here but with the CI wiki and the digg api wiki I can't put the two together, any pointers would be appreciated :-)

[eluser]Pascal Kriete[/eluser]
Just a quick look at the api documentation makes me question the whole approach. At the very beginning it states that it's a Rest API. Not xml-rpc.