Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI or CMSs?

[eluser]x386[/eluser]
Hello!
I am a web designer, and I recently "discovered" CI, and I say: It's amazing! As a web designer, I hate coding! I'd always use CMSs (e107 most of the times) to run my clients projects. Now, cause I want to use the benefits of CI, and I don't want to code anything myself (anyway, CI is a framework...) is there ready to use modules for common website features? I mean, "News", "Forums", "Download" section, and so on?

Sorry for my English!
Thank you!

[eluser]Jesse B.[/eluser]
Hi x386,

CodeIgniter's sister program, ExpressionEngine, may be just what you're looking for. EE is written by the same nice folks that write CI, so you'll find that the philosophy of the software is similar. Many of EE's strongest advocates are designers like you, who are uncomfortable coders but still want a dynamic solution to sell to clients.

Also, the next major version of EE will be based on CI, so you will be able to combine the flexibility of CI with the robustness of a pre-built CMS.

Hope this helps!

[eluser]Yash[/eluser]
codeigniterdirectory.com may help you

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
CI is a coding framework which means it makes it easier to write well structured applications. A CMS is a bunch of publishing applications that can share the same data like logins. So if you don't like coding you have to find applications that use the same authentication library and have a front- and backend.

If you hate coding CI is not the right tool for you.

[eluser]x386[/eluser]
Thank you for your answers!