Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Using Zend_Auth and Zend_ACL with CI

[eluser]zackwragg[/eluser]
Hi all,

I am relatively new to CodeIgniter (but have to admit that I am loving it).

In my current project I am having to develop a CMS with multiple users levels, and a slightly complex permission system. I have decided to user Zend_ACL for authorization and I thought I would use Zend_Auth for the authentication.

I have been reading through the Zend documentation and it says that for Zend_Auth I need to use Zend_Auth_Adapter_DbTable (and hence the Zend DB adapter). Has anyone out there used the these Zend components and is able to offer insight into how they implemented these?

Primarily, I am wondering if there is some way to use the CI database classes or if I should use the Zend DB libraries for the authentication. However, if anyone can give me any info on their implementation Zend_Auth/Zend_ACL, or any words of encouragement that would be great.

Any help with this would greatly much appreciated.

[eluser]usmc[/eluser]
Check this out
http://www.4webby.com/freakauth/tutorial...de-igniter

Something else you might look into
http://code.google.com/p/reduxauth/

Thanks for the links, usmc.

I've already got the Zend libraries linked into my app, but am more interested in the specific implementations of the Zend_Auth and Zend_ACL libraries and the database issue I mentioned.

Have you used ReduxAuth yourself? I had decided to go with Zend as I was already pulling in the ACL stuff and figured I may as well lump the Auth stuff from there as well.

Thanks again.

[eluser]gon[/eluser]
You could write your own Zend_Auth_Adapter_DbTable, copying Zend's and replacing the Zend DB methods for Codeigniter code.

Thanks, gon. I may give that a look and see if I can adapt the Zend_Auth_Adapter_DbTable to use the CI code.