Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
matchbox and that old admin folder question

[eluser]hyperfire[/eluser]
Hi there

Im kinda new to CI, but reading the forum i have found that if i use matchbox along with ci, i could use a structure like this:

modules
-- admin
-----blog (blog administration)
-------controller
---------blog.php {lib etc ....}
-------model
---------blogmodel.php {add edit del ....}
-------view
---------blog_view.php {list all blog posts)
--blog (frontend)
----controller
------blog.php { list blog posts for common user }

What am i doing wrong, because i cannot make it work here, any ideas please?

And why not support those simple folder structures by default?

Thanks

[eluser]Murodese[/eluser]
We use;

modules
--blog
----controller
------admin.php (backend controller)
------blog.php (frontend controller)
----model
------blog_model.php
----views
------backend
--------write.php (example view)
------frontend
--------some-other-view.php

Seriously? I need to use that then use a route to get:
example.com/admin/blog
and
example.com/blog
example.com/blog/post/3

and so, what about that configuration on matchbox.php
$config['directories'] = ('modules');

can i add ('modules', 'admin')

and have

admin/blog
blog

Sorry...im trying to get it and found this topic discussed many times without a clear 'theme' for this.
If i need to route, why use matchbox? Just for organization sake?
Thanks

[eluser]Phil Sturgeon[/eluser]
I have a global controller called controllers/admin.php that handles the admin login/logout and other boring functions like that, then each module has a admin.php controller of its own like Murodese above.

The routes you will need to get something like that going is:

Code:
$route['admin/([a-z]+)/(:any)'] = "$1/admin/$2";
$route['admin/login'] = "admin/login";
$route['admin/logout'] = "admin/logout";
$route['admin/([a-z]+)'] = "$1/admin/index";
$route['admin'] = "admin";