Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Searching and Pagination using CI

[eluser]NotDior[/eluser]
I'm fairly new to CI and up until now I've found it very self explanatory. However I seem to have come to a brick wall that I can't get over nor can I destroy it to reach my destination. I'm hoping that someone can lend a hand on this forum.

I am attempting to build a simple search interface were various criteria can be input(date range, author, publication and keywords) and have the results pulled back. The search works and provides me the results that I'm expecting, so all is well with the SQL queries. The problem I'm running into is the pagination process. I can get pagination working and displaying previous 1 2 3 next etc, BUT, I am unable to make it go to the next page and the previous page when those links are clicked. This is because there's no longer any search criteria when the page is clicked. In other applications I've written I am simply able to pass the search criteria from one page to another (with GET). However that doesn't seem like it's possible using the pagination library and CI.

Where am I going wrong and does anyone have a sample piece of code that I could look at?

(I've looked on this forum and found this: http://ellislab.com/forums/viewthread/96375/ and I've looked at the tutorial here: http://godbit.com/article/pagination-with-code-igniter and neither seem to address the issue).

Thanks in advance.

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I'm unclear if what you are describing is the pagination breaking down because your $config['total_rows'] isn't factoring in your WHERE conditions? Or, if you cannot get the WHERE conditions to pass between page loads? If it's the former, I've run into a similar situation. My solution was to change the model to take advantage of MySQL's native SQL_CALC_FOUND_ROWS functionality and I've posted a more in-depth tutorial about this here:

http://therothefamily.com/blog/entry/ci-...conditions