Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Mauth: Auth library? Release or not to release...

[eluser]missionsix[/eluser]
Hello!

So i'm thinking about releasing my Auth library, code named: Mauth (MissionSix Authentication Library) for the public. Being that I've been developing it for about 8 months now, and used it on quite a few public websites, i feel that it might be useful for some other people out there.

Now i realize there are quite a few Auth libraries out there already, and it might be a hard arena to compete in. Which is why i have another proposal...

But first, here are some features of Mauth:

Quote:-Very customizable
-Secure (salted, encrypted passwords)
-Facebook integration (for applications)
-Fast registration process
-Unique email registrations and validation
-Online Users / Who's Online
-Cookie based logins (optional)
-Database sessions
-Groups system (admin, user, moderator, ect..)
-User profiles (optional, customizable)
-User Avatars (optional, customizable)

And I also have some things planned for upcoming builds:

Quote:-Controller/function assigned permission system
-Facebook Connect Login (i need to modify my current Facebook implementation)
-Admin interface for user management
-more...

I've also though about maybe writing up a guide/tutorial on how to create your own Auth library. Would this be more effective for the learning CI user? Most websites require different types of features in an Auth library, and if you teach a man to fish, he can eat for the rest of his life, right?! One size != fit all.

If I went this route, i would release code samples from my library in my post. And probably break it into several sections on how to deal with various parts of the library.

Anyway, I would like some opinions / thoughts on the matter. And any suggestions you have for me would be great!

-Pat Aka MissionSix

http://patandrew.com

[eluser]trippc[/eluser]
I would welcome another auth library.