Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Application Design (new to CI)

[eluser]Richard Rowe[/eluser]
Hello All,

I'm new to CI, and to be completely honest quite new to PHP as well. Haven't worked with MVC either, but I think I'm getting the idea.

I'm trying to create a job listing web site using CI consisting of a Front-end (public access), User control panel (registered users access) and an Admin control panel (administrators access). I had planned to keep the admin views in /views/admin/, public in /views/public, etc. Because I have the view in a sub-folder in views, do I just $this->load->view('/admin/my-view'); or do I define the folder somewhere else?

Looking at this very generally, how would I go about setting up CodeIgnitor for this? What I was planning to do is have a controllers/public.php, controllers/admin.php and controllers/users.php but thought I may check here first for a more efficient method.

As I understand, all your data base queries need to be put in libraries or models?

I noticed a few scripts for CI that do the whole backend for you, I can't really use these as its for a school project. I can use snippets of code here and there though.

Any help / tips is appreciated. Been over the CI documentation briefly.

Thanks!

[eluser]crumpet[/eluser]
[quote author="Richard Rowe" date="1229136796"]
do I just $this->load->view('/admin/my-view');
[/quote]
yes
[quote author="Richard Rowe" date="1229136796"]
Looking at this very generally, how would I go about setting up CodeIgnitor for this? What I was planning to do is have a controllers/public.php, controllers/admin.php and controllers/users.php but thought I may check here first for a more efficient method.
[/quote]
I would structure your application around the data not around the users
that would mean if its a job listings website
you have a controller called jobs
this controller has methods like create, edit, view
in these methods they figure out if its an admin or what