Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Practical PHP media streaming theory

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I’ve been scripting in PHP for about 8 years now. The reason I initially started writing PHP was because I wanted to make a net radio broadcast site. Back then the only real way to do it was to use shoutcast server but it was far from what I wanted. Thus began my quest to either find or build a practical media streaming PHP solution.

Today there are a number of really neat projects that come close to what I’m looking for in media streaming. All of them are commercial and require payment or the rest are OSS but don’t offer alot. I think the “practical” technology already (or is very close) in existance to create a PHP based media streaming library.

First, let’s define what the goal is:
Build a OPEN SOURCE php library that a php developer can use to build a media streaming site. The PHP will act as a middleman between the source media and the streaming server as well as between the client(listener/viewer) and the streaming server.
Basic layout:
source -> PHP source controller -> binary to transcode and stream source
client -> PHP client controller -> binary that streams the sources

The whole point is to get PHP in between the binary that does all the transcoding and streaming and the source/clients. When this is accomplished in a reliable and practical way you can build whatever you want in php to control things. You could build a request system or a DJ manager or control who can listen in.