Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Moving CI from php4 to php5

[eluser]pifantastic[/eluser]
Hello, I am very new to CI but I have a lot of experience with MVC frameworks. I am in the process of moving a CI app that was developed on a PHP4 server to a PHP5 server. I am having a lot of trouble with the upgrade. I have found that there are several cases where the code accesses the controller from the view. For some reason this does not work in PHP5. For exmaple, in several views, I find something like this:

Code:
<?php
<h3>blah blah</h3>
<div id="show">&lt;?= $this->load->view('myaccount/show') ?&gt;</div>
<div id="edit">&lt;?= $this->load->view('myaccount/edit') ?&gt;</div>
?&gt;

This doesn't seem to throw any sort of error, it just doesn't work as expected. The view that gets displayed is this:
Code:
<h3>blah blah</h3>
<div id="show">

So I was wondering if anyone had any experience with this or any ideas of how to fix the problem. I supposed I could load all the views in the controller and assign them to view data variables, but this is a large application and that would take a lot of time.

Let me know if I can provide more information.

Thanks!

[eluser]jaswinder_rana[/eluser]
Above should work as I am using it.

Can it be path issue? How are your views stored? As per your example, it should

application/views/myyacount/show.php
application/views/myyacount/edit.php

Now, I am not sure if it maybe because of your short tags. I had to turn short tags on my local server to make it work. I am not saying you din't already, I am just listing possible causes.

AND, as per your code, you already have PHP tags open. Is that in your code or happened when you posted here?

No Starting/Closing PHP tags
Code:
<h3>blah blah</h3>
<div id="show">&lt;?= $this->load->view('myaccount/show') ?&gt;</div>