Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Using the Active Record library as a standalone

[eluser]Frunkie[/eluser]
Hey everyone,

What I would like to do is to take CIs active record library and use it as a standalone for one application that I am working on. I have searched and not been able to find anything on this. Can someone tell me if this has been done or maybe someone has knowledge of how to do this? All I need is the mysql lib.

Thanks!

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
AR is not a stand alone library, it is a part of the database library. The latter is the most complex library of CI.

But you can use the database library as a stand alone library with a few changes and strip off all the things you don't need.

[eluser]Frunkie[/eluser]
Your right, AR is a part of the DB library. My bad. I'm really new to CI and fairly new to OOP so please bear with me.

What I have done is stripped out the database directory from the CI build and put that in the root directory of my server.

I edited the DB.php file and put my dsn info into the DB function ($params=''). I defined my BASEPATH and EXT in the DB.php file as well.

I created a test.php file in the same directory and included the DB.php file. How do I run a query from there? Am I missing something else?

Also, thank you for your fast reply!

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
The library structure is not that good because the main file, DB.php, is stored in the database directory. The directory should be to store every file except the main file then you can load the library as follows
Code:
include('libraries/DB.php');
instead of
Code:
include('libraries/database/DB.php');

Another thing you have to strip from CI is the application/config/database.php file. The inclusion of this file should be altered too.

To make method calls you do
Code:
$db = new CI_DB();
$db->query('sql statement here');

[eluser]Frunkie[/eluser]
Ok, I made the changes that said to make but I am getting this error: