Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
New to CI would like more info on $this->db->query(), $this->db->get(), etc.

[eluser]betoranaldi[/eluser]
So I am new to CI and have gone through the entire user manual and skimmed through the wiki.

I am diving into accessing databases and creating queries. I am a little confused on how to use $this->db->query(), $this->db->get(), etc.

Well maybe not confused but would like to know their abilities and how to use them.

Are there any resources that explain the uses of $this->db->query(), $this->db->get(), etc.?

Also if anyone has any resources about joining tables and how to utilize that information.

Thank you in advance.

-Brian

[eluser]Michael Wales[/eluser]
There's really not much of a better resource than the User Guide, so I'll just toss some code examples at you and hopefully they stick:

If you do not want to use ActiveRecord (CodeIgniter's Query Building Class) then you are stuck with the query() method. This allows you to write your own SQL statements and make use of CI's Query Binding - the closest thing to a prepared statement you will get with CI. For the most part, this is rarely used - most of us use ActiveRecord.
Code:
$sql = 'SELECT * FROM users WHERE username = ? and password = ?';
$query = $this->db->query($sql, array('walesmd', md5('wizard')));
if ($result->num_rows() > 0) {
  return $query->row();
}
return FALSE;

ActiveRecord is the route most of us go - it allows you to stay in the PHP mindset, writing PHP code to generate your SQL queries.
Code:
// Do the same thing as the previous example.
$query = $this->db->get_where('users', array('username' => 'walesmd', 'password' => md5('wizard')));
if ($query->num_rows() > 0) {
  return $query->row();
}
return FALSE;

Code:
// Get a list of all of our users, sorted by registration date
$this->db->order_by('created_on', 'DESC');
$query = $this->db->get('users');
  return $query->result();
}
return FALSE;

Code:
// This will create a new user