Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Subdirectories in views problems with includes

[eluser]cairo140[/eluser]
Hi all! I'm just starting out with CodeIgniter and playing around for a bit, and I'm having a bit of trouble with a couple view files. Calling all these view files from controllers.

My views folder is structured as follows (essentially):

views/
..includes/
....header.php
..corporate/
....add_view.php
about_view.php

In about.php, I call the following:

Code:
include_once ('includes/header.php');

It includes header.php no problem; however, when I write in add.php the following:

Code:
include_once ('../includes/header.php');

It just falls over and dies:

Quote:A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: include(../includes/header.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory

Filename: corporate/add_view.php

Line Number: 9

I must be missing something... any help would be much appreciated!

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
I would stick to absolute paths, and use the APPPATH constant as a prefix.

[eluser]bcorcoran[/eluser]
[quote author="Colin Williams" date="1233142535"]I would stick to absolute paths, and use the APPPATH constant as a prefix.[/quote]

Thanks for the tip about APPPATH.

Are there any advantages/disadvantages to using
Code:
include(APPPATH . 'views/viewfile.php');
instead of the load view method?
Code:
$this->load->view('views/viewfile');

What would be the reasoning for going one way or the other?

EDIT: I want to clarify that I am asking in terms of within a View file, NOT a Controller function.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
My preference is for this approach, but only because it more closely matches the standard CI approach. Call it aesthetics, even.

Code:
$this->load->view('views/viewfile');

Quote:EDIT: I want to clarify that I am asking in terms of within a View file, NOT a Controller function.

Ahh, but you can't ask one question without getting two answers!