Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Insert error when following the User Guide for Model

[eluser]juddmuir[/eluser]
Hi,

I'm new to CI, and have been following the User Guide to get up to speed.

From the guide to models, the code to insert the model is this:

Code:
function insert_entry()
    {
        $this->title   = $_POST['title']; // please read the below note
        $this->content = $_POST['content'];
        $this->date    = time();

$this->db->insert('entries', $this);
    }

When I run this code, I get the error
Code:
A Database Error Occurred

Error Number: 1054

Unknown column '_ci_ob_level' in 'field list'

It looks like the object $this contains variables other than just those in the database fields, although I haven't added any. What have I done wrong?

[eluser]yelirekim[/eluser]
are you sure you're placing that code in a model and not in a controller?

Absolutely sure, tried and got the same with two different models.

Doing a var_dump($this) shows an ENORMOUS object has been instantiated, which I don't understand as all that's been done is the parent::Model() in the constructor.

For now, I'm creating a secondary object on the fly inside my model, to hold the data for inserting:

Code:
function save() {
    //Copy data into data model so CI doesn't error
    $datamodel->classified_title = $this->classified_title;
    $datamodel->classified_details = $this->classified_details;
    $this->db->insert('classifieds_post', $datamodel);
}

Horrible, but it works.

[eluser]Michael Wales[/eluser]
Yes, it surprises me this hasn't been changed yet. $this refers to the CodeIgniter super-object (if you checkout libraries/model.php you will see the call to get_instance()).