Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Views and PHP Code

[eluser]bagwaa[/eluser]
Greetings All,

I am quite new to CI but have been using PHP for many years, I decided to learn CI because I wanted a decent framework and all the others I just didn't quite like enough. I have also been using Ruby on Rails which I do like, but my main forte is PHP so CI is perfect.

As I am new to MVC frameworks my question is regarding views, I have created an application recently for a client who wants an online store to deliver PDFs, simple enough and with CI its actually fun to-do! but one thing that I wasn't comfortable with was my views. Now this may well be either me doing it wrong, or trying to stick to the MVC concept to much, but I had a set of data which I wanted to draw out on a page which sits in a table. The code I wrote basically creates the table and then has a foreach loop embedded into the html so that the data can be placed within <td></td> tags, I then use the % operator so that every 4 items, it starts a new row <tr></tr>.

Using foreach loops in a view seems like a really crude way of doing it in CI, is there a way to build these tables up or am I just thinking about the MVC structure too much?

Thanks,

Richard

[eluser]felyx[/eluser]
Well here is how I create table with php in a view:

Code:
<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
  <td>t1</td>
  <td>t2</td>
</tr>

&lt;?php foreach($itemarray as $item): ?&gt;

<tr>
  <td>&lt;?php echo $item['t1']; ?&gt;</td>
  <td>&lt;?php echo $item['t2']; ?&gt;</td>
</tr>

&lt;?php endforeach; ?&gt;

</table>

It seems fine to me but maybe someone can show you a better approach. However I think you should not complicate it more if you can settle with this solution, its just a simple easy to understand code in a view even a designer can handle it I think.

[eluser]attos[/eluser]
That's the beauty of CI. You have the freedom to choose what fits you best Smile

[eluser]bagwaa[/eluser]