Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Gotta be an easier way of doing this...

[eluser]coding_hero[/eluser]
CI newbie here, I'm trying to retrain my brain into working MVC. So, this may be a "stupid question".

The problem I'm dealing with is a simple one. Let's use the common example of an employee database with the fields:

first_name,
last_name,
employee_number,
birthdate,
salary

It's easy enough to make a CI page to display as little or as much of this as I want to. But, what if I want to query it in many different ways? Is it a model if I want to query by employee_number (example: employee_number in a range), a different model for querying by salary (example: salary less than or greater than an amount), and yet another model for querying by last_name (example: all last names beginning with 'N')?

Thanks for your help!

[eluser]daBayrus[/eluser]
only one model, say, employee_model. you will have to create different functions for your various queries...

[eluser]underskor[/eluser]
Code:
class Employee_model extends Model {
  var $id;
  var $name;
  var $salary;
  //etc

function fetch_employee_data() {
    if($this->id !== NULL) { $this->db->where('id', $this->id); }
    if($this->name !== NULL) { $this->db->where('name', $this->name); }
    if($this->salary !== NULL) { $this->db->where('salary', $this->salary); }

$this->db->from('employees'); //etc, return data however you like
  }

Then in your controller just do something like:
Code:
function view_employee($id = NULL, $name = NULL, $salary = NULL) { //cant remember if this is valid or not for controllers (URI etc)
  $this->employee_model->id = $id;
  $this->employee_model->fetch_employee_data(); //will get employee data based on id, should be able to get the gist of things from here
}

Hope that helps out, at least until Colin Williams, Xwero or one of the other CI Guns shows up in here Smile

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
daBayrus got it right, just create methods for the different queries you need.