Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
On CRUD, Scaffolding, ORM and the like.

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
I'm interested to hear any horror stories or tales of triumph from any of you out there who have experience with the currently available development tools in CI, like BackendPro, CodeCrafter, IgnitedRecord, DataMapper, etc.

I've been entertaining the idea of distributing a replacement to the deprecated Scaffolding class, which in the end would be some mix of scaffolding, CRUD prototyping, and a different flavor of ORM. You, the CI developer, could interact with it and benefit from it on a number of levels: Use it for expediting model development; use it to prototype your application's object models; use it to generate working CRUD-ready MVC; use it to quickly enter test data or even rely on it for a ready-baked backend interface (all supported by GREAT documentation and a slick API and GUI).

I have little experience with the above-mentioned tools, but I have a good sense of the climate around each based on daily forum perusal. So I'd love to hear what you all are longing for. I have a very specific direction for this project but wouldn't want to move forward without some valuable input de todos mis compaƱeros de codigo de ignicion.

Fire away.

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
I don't really use CRUD, and although I've read about ORM, I still don't get it. But we definitely need a replacement to the deprecated scaffolding class. I'd be very interested to see what you can come up with.

[eluser]brianw1975[/eluser]
a good piece of CRUD functionality would, imo, go a long way to taking CI to the next level.

i, personally, would like to see a "plugin" (for lack of a better term) that can easily be dropped in the necessary folder (controllers, models, views, etc, with the hope that they could be in sub-directories for easy removal before sending the site to production)