Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
where to put $title creation function / call

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Howdi,

Potentially very dumb question. I want to have my views get an array called $title, that's generated in the controller with:
Code:
$data['title'] = $this->uri->rsegment_array();

However, I don't want to have to do this in every function within every controller class. I think I read somewhere that you can't do any kind of variable assignment within the class but outside a function/method (can you tell I'm not hugely hip with the whole OO thing?). I've tried inserting this call in various places, but get a range of nasty errors on the browser. It works just fine, of course, within my index() or other functions within the controller.

So I'm assuming there's a proper place for this to go, and I'm guessing it should be part of a helper or similar - that I still have to load as part of each controller class's constructor. I'm just starting out with this mini-project, and I'm sure other similar things will need to be gen'd in the same way. So I'm pretty much looking for some style advice here.

[eluser]pistolPete[/eluser]
Extend the controller class:
Code:
class MY_Controller extends Controller {
   var $data = array();
   function MY_Controller()
   {
      $this->data['title'] = $this->uri->rsegment_array();
   }
}
Code:
class Some_controller extends MY_Controller {
   function index()
   {
      // load view
      $this->load->view('some_view', $this->data);
   }

function some_other_function()
   {
      // load view
      $this->load->view('some_other_view', $this->data);
   }
}

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Pete - thanks for this. I've RTM'd the link you gave, and now get what I should be doing.

Reading through the user guide, it suggests that the parent class that we're extending should be prefixed with CI_ .. but doing so caused failures. A problem with the user guide, or am I missing something?