Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Testing database connections

Hello, I'm still learning CodeIgniter so please forgive me if my question is ridiculous. In a previous version of CI, I would set the 'autoinit' variable in the database config file to false, and initialize my database in an if statement which would return true or false if the connection couldn't be made without throwing any warnings. If false I would load a page giving instructions on how to set the database config file. I'm not seeing a choice for autoinit in CI 3, so I assume I need to find another solution. Could anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks!

It looks like they removed the option and it "autoinits" when it gets loaded. So don't autoload it in config/autoload.php, do your checks and then use $this->load->database(); to load it AND init it. http://www.codeigniter.com/userguide3/da...cting.html

That makes sense. The following is working for me as far as I can tell. Anyone see any problems?
PHP Code:
    public function check_database()
    {

ini_set('display_errors''Off');

//  Load the database config file.

if(file_exists($file_path APPPATH.'config/database.php'))
        {
            include(
$file_path);
        }

$config $db[$active_group];

//  Check database connection if using mysqli driver

if( $config['dbdriver'] === 'mysqli' )
        {

$mysqli = new mysqli$config['hostname'] , $config['username'] , $config['password'] , $config['database'] );
            if( !
$mysqli->connect_error )
            {
                return 
true;
            }
            else{
                return 
false;
            }
        }
        else
        {
            return 
false;
        }
    } 

Why not just use $this->load->database(), which does everything you are doing manually and more?

PHP Code:
$this->load->database(); //loads "default" group config from /config/database.php
//$this->db is now using the default database connection