Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Parsing nested lists

[eluser]slowgary[/eluser]
Hi all,

I'm new to OOPHP, MVC, and CI but I must say I'm loving the experience. CodeIgniter has made everything so easy that it just makes sense, even to someone like me that resisted the move to OO for such a long time.

I'm creating a lightweight CMS for the experience and I could really use the help of some of you seasoned veterans around this forum. My problem exists in my menu manager. It allows users to drag and drop elements of the navigation around to suit their needs (uses JavaScript), which works fine. The issue is in saving it back to the database.

The site navigation would be a CSS dropdown menu, database driven, organized into nested lists like so:
Code:
<ul>
     <li>link 1</li>
     <li>link 2</li>
     <li>link 3
          <ul>
               <li>link 4</li>
               <li>link 5</li>
               <li>link 6
                    <ul>
                         <li>link 7</li>
                    </ul>
               </li>
          </ul>
     </li>
</ul>

And the database table structure:
Code:
--------------------------------------
|  id   |   position   |   caption   |
|  1    |      1       |    link 1   |
|  2    |      2       |    link 2   |
|  3    |      3       |    link 3   |
|  4    |      3.1     |    link 4   |
|  5    |      3.2     |    link 5   |
|  6    |      3.3     |    link 6   |
|  7    |      3.3.1   |    link 7   |