Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
halp! getting data from model to view

[eluser]taro uma[/eluser]
I am just learning codeigniter, and have a question about getting variables.

so I have a model that gets data from a database,

The database has ID, Title, Message.

Code:
function get_frontpage_content()
    {
        $query = $this->db->get('FrontPage');
        return $query->result();
    }

I load this in my controller and then load my view:

Code:
$this->load->model('FrontPageModel','',TRUE);
$data['frontpagedata'] = $this->FrontPageModel->get_frontpage_content();
$this->load->view('frontpage',$data);

Then in the view, I was trying to access by $frontpagedata['Title'], etc. but it was giving a message the variable was undefined.

So I print_r the $frontpagedata and it shows me this:

Code:
Array ( [0] => stdClass Object ( [ID] => 1 [Title] => Welcome [Message] => Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Praesent tincidunt, risus in convallis eleifend, augue odio rhoncus mi, nec iaculis mi arcu ac nibh. Suspendisse eget mi a mi semper facilisis. Duis elementum, odio id commodo fringilla, erat nunc adipiscing metus, ac sollicitudin risus est eget risus. Praesent sit amet ipsum sed metus imperdiet elementum. Pellentesque odio dui, iaculis vel, luctus ut, elementum vel, ante. Integer nec ipsum. Etiam cursus tortor id turpis. Sed auctor dui vel ligula. Ut consequat purus at leo. Cras varius. Phasellus convallis commodo nisl.))

So I can see that the variables I want are stuck in this stdClass Object, but I am not sure how to avoid this and have the variables simply part of the $frontpagedata array so I can call them like $frontpagedata['Title']

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
Your model is passing back an object, and you're trying to access it as an array.

Code:
# For an object:
$object = $query->result();
$title = $object->title;

# For an array:
$array = $query->result_array();
$title = $array['title'];