Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Problem with setup

[eluser]nicromonicon[/eluser]
hello guys
im a newbie at CI, i installed Appserv on my machine, now, problem is, where to place CI files?

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Hi nicromonicon, and welcome to the CI forums.

Now, I'm not sure what Appserv is, so I can't work out what operating system you're using.

But, generic advice - CI files will live in a sub-directory (of your choosing) under your web server's folders. For Debian GNU/Linux this means somewhere under /var/www/... and for MS-IIS I think it means something like C:\wwwroot\ .. but it depends on where you have installed your web server. There's nothing 'special' about where the CI files have to go, though, if that is your concern?

Thanks jedd for your reply Smile

AppServ is a webserver, and i did copy the CI folder to C:\AppServ\www

now, when i run the index.php (that came originally with AppServ) everything works fine

but when i try to run welcome.php (in CodeIgniter_1.7.1\system\application\controllers)
it gives me this error:

"Fatal error: Class 'Controller' not found in C:\Downloads\CodeIgniter_1.7.1\system\application\controllers\welcome.php"

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
I'd probably suggest you rename your default CodeIgniter_1.7.1 directory to something else - test, foo, project, etc.

Did you go through the [url="http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/installation/index.html"]Installation Instructions[/url] ?

It sounds like you might have missed configuring the config.php file with the $config['base_url'] bit.

i did go through the instructions, but replaced "www.example.com" with my computer name
is this correct? if not, what should i write in $config['base_url']?

thanks for your help =)

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]