Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Form Library - No Fun

[eluser]Kyle Johnson[/eluser]
Hi everyone,

I've been using codeigniter for about 2 months now, my first experience with MVC setups. I like the idea of using the same pages multiple times, it makes everything really simple to develop.

I'm having issues with this form library.

I have a number of forms that I want to be able to create dynamically, but they have complicated (to me) instructions.

For example, I am creating a from that has a few static pieces of information at the top, and then has 'n' line items, but the drop downs won't generate until other drop downs have been filled in. Requiring a reload on every 'onchange' event.

I just feel there is a better approach to this.

I am loading the Form library and generating all the data to pass to the form in the controller. The $data variable is then passed to the view and I echo the $data['form'] variable using echo $form.

I want to also somehow tweak the Form library here to use validation, but I'm not sure if it's possible.

The form library isn't finished being updated, so I am building on to it as I go, but maybe someone can point me in a better direction?

I've been browsing a bit in the forums, and it seems I'm not the only one with FORM issues.

It's difficult to create dynamic, user-friendly forms. I could give out data input fields for every field all day, but I think the users would prefer to have drop downs and see data only pertinent to them.

How do application developers manage this amount of work? I love working on databases and designing the logic for things, but when it comes to writing out the GUI code.. it just becomes tedious. Is that just me?

[eluser]slowgary[/eluser]