Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Execute script automatically on every page?

[eluser]Sillysoft[/eluser]
Hello,
Im just getting into CI so please excuse the noobie in me. Anyway Im planning to rewrite a site using CI and was wondering how would I execute a script on every page automatically? Currently the site queries the database to the current site id based on information passed on it and the id returned is used to pull up information for every page specific to that site id. I have a global include script that gets included into all the pages so I dont have to write the code on every page. In CI do I just create a model and add to the AutoLoad config file and access the model in every controller?

Thanks
Silly

[eluser]gyo[/eluser]
Yeah, autoload is the key Wink

But that just autoloads the actually model, I still would have to call the model on every page correct?

[eluser]gyo[/eluser]
You can always execute a method from the model constructor like: $this->init();
So on each page load the init() will be executed.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Hi Sillysoft,

You might want to read this [url="http://ellislab.com/forums/viewthread/109698/#553141"]most excellent and thoughtful response to a similar question, written by a really nice guy[/url] on one way to address this problem.

I note that you're unsure if you want to do this in the controller or the model - you may want to describe exactly what you want to achieve with this code, as there may be better ways of doing this.

[quote author="jedd" date="1238728055"]Hi Sillysoft,

You might want to read this [url="http://ellislab.com/forums/viewthread/109698/#553141"]most excellent and thoughtful response to a similar question, written by a really nice guy[/url] on one way to address this problem.

I note that you're unsure if you want to do this in the controller or the model - you may want to describe exactly what you want to achieve with this code, as there may be better ways of doing this.[/quote]