Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Help! Need wamp folder structure for multiple apps development

[eluser]IgnitedOne[/eluser]
I am a CI noob with decent PHP know-how and I need to
develop multiple apps (from one CI install) with wamp.
Can someone help with the folder hierarchy...from c:\wamp
inwards...and example config for one of the apps?

Thanks,
IgnitedOne

[eluser]ggoforth[/eluser]
I wrote a few blog posts about this topic. Maybe they will help you (although they don't specifically relate to WAMP, but the theory should be the same).

This one relates to installing code igniter in a way that allows you to run multiple sites on one CI code base.
http://www.greggoforth.net/article/8

This one is about the codeigniter directory structure.
http://www.greggoforth.net/article/5

Hey thanks so much.

Actually, I did figure it out and because
it's specifically for wamp, I will post
my "solution".

Thanks again, summer.

Hey Gregg:

Those were great links...I saved 'em both.

Thanks again,
Brad

DO NOT HEED THIS POST...IT'S NOT CORRECT. SORRY IF ANYONE TRIED IT.
_IGNITEDONE

Here's my "solution". Please critique.

1. Extract the CodeIgniter zip to c:\wamp.
2. Navigate with My Computer to C:\wamp\CodeIgniter_1.7.1\system\application.

Let's assume you initially want to develop 3 CI Web apps in folders named:

- app1
- app2
- app3

3. Make FOUR new subfolders as below:

- C:\wamp\CodeIgniter_1.7.1\system\application\app1
- C:\wamp\CodeIgniter_1.7.1\system\application\app2
- C:\wamp\CodeIgniter_1.7.1\system\application\app3
- C:\wamp\CodeIgniter_1.7.1\system\application\copyfornewapp

4. Copy EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE 4 NEW FOLDERS (copy 9 folders and index.html) from the C:\wamp\CodeIgniter_1.7.1\system\application folder into app1.

5. Repeat step 4 for the 3 other new folders.

At this point, the C:\wamp\CodeIgniter_1.7.1\system\application folder should have its 9 original folders (config,controllers,errors, etc),index.html, and our 4 new folders: