Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How to implement a theming/templating system?

[eluser]RyanStubbs[/eluser]
Hey.

I'm working on a CMS script using CodeIgniter and I'm pretty new to this so I was wondering if anybody could help me with finding information about implementing a templating system in my application.

I would like a way to allow designers to easily create themes for my CMS without the end-user having to manually edit the files to allow for the design to work.

I would also like to allow dynamic content such as page titles and widgets to be easily inserted in different parts of the theme.

Please could someone help me by providing information about how to do this please?

Thanks a lot!

Ryan.

[eluser]stuffradio[/eluser]
Put a folder in your views for themes, have a database table for themes (or maybe use your config table?). If you use a config table, you can store a global theme in it. Make the name of the theme the same name of the folder as your theme you want to use. Have your controller load that theme by getting the value of the global theme (or if they're logged in they can use the name of the theme that is stored in their user row).

That's pretty much all there is to it, theory wise. Try playing with that idea and come back if you have more questions, some people might have other theories they can offer too.

[eluser]Snoob[/eluser]
You can use the SESSION to store the template folder. And a form to choose the template, when submit the form, It will change the SESSION

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
themes can be done by exposing the css styles in a user friendly way.

shuffling around the content of the page is trickier because there will always be a widget short because the developers haven't foreseen where people want to display certain information.