Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Active Records

[eluser]Peter Goodman[/eluser]
So, I'm a PHP developer and I've been working on my own PHP5 framework. For work though, I work with the CodeIgniter framework. I've found that the current "active records" system is inadequate. So, I've essentially translated code from my framework to work with CI. I'm about to start testing it out, but if anyone is interested, I will be releasing it (if I get it to work) as an extension/library/thingy.

Here's how it works (from within a controller)
Code:
// simple updating
$post = $this->getFinder('model_name')->find(1); // find something by its primary key
$post->name = 'hello';
$post->body = 'mooo';
$post->save();

// simple inserting
$post = $this->getFinder('model_name')->createRecord();
$post->save();

// given a table relation specified by hasMany or hasOne in a model definition, other
// table rows can be accessed as:
$post->replies;
// where 'replies' is an automatically added table.

This only gives a small idea of the neat features I supply. If anyone is interested, please say so Smile

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
I've found that this sort of pattern works just fine with CI. Say $this->post is a model.
Code:
$post = $this->post->get(1);
$post->title = 'Hello';
$post->body = 'Word up, G!';
$this->post->save($post);

The syntax is nearly identical, except that this requires you write your own 'post' model. Which, really, is not a big deal. I don't know if I would personally like to have an ORM system like yours assume things about my data, unless it just does an awesome job of it.

So, it works! I wanted to explain some improvements over CI's current active record system. First of all is how the modeling system works. This system supports anything that can be classified into a model, and the database is the obvious default one.

There are several things involved: Finders, Models, ModelDefinitions, Records, and RecordSets.