Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
jquery (ui) integration library approach

[eluser]leviathan28[/eluser]
Hi people,

recently, I needed a datepicker in some places of my application and I ended up using the jquery ui datepicker. I am really not comfortable with javascript (actually I'm not able to produce more than an alert or the occasional handling of input fields) and it was also the first time I used jquery so it took me quite a long time to make it work.

I then created a simple library to generate the necessary javascript and to be able to attach the datepicker to an input like this:

$this->jquery->add_datepicker('myfieldname');

Now there are two questions I'd like to ask:
1. I'm quite new to CI, so: Is my approach (see code below) sensible?
2. Would anybody be interested in having this library made public? (assuming I get some more functionality into it)

config-file:
Code:
<?php
/* Path to jquery scripts, relative to base_url */
$config['jq_config']['js_path'] = 'path/to/your/js';
$config['jq_config']['css_path'] = 'path/to/your/css';

/* Scripts to be loaded by default; to dynamically load scripts use jquery->add_scripts() */
$config['jq_scripts'][] = 'jquery-1.3.2.min.js';
$config['jq_scripts'][] = 'jquery-ui-1.7.1.custom.min.js';
$config['jq_scripts'][] = 'ui/i18n/ui.datepicker-de.js';

/* css to be loaded */
$config['jq_css'][] = 'start/jquery-ui-1.7.1.custom.css';
?>

The library
Code:
<?php if ( ! defined('BASEPATH')) exit('No direct script access allowed');
/**
* jQuery Library
*/
class Jquery {
    var $CI;

/* paths */
    var $jq_base_url;
    var $jq_css_url;

var $arr_scripts;
    var $arr_css;

/* Output */
    var $output_scripts    = '';
    var $output_css        = '';
    var $output            = '';

/**
     * Constructor
     * @return void
     */
    function Jquery () {
        $this->CI =& get_instance();
        $this->CI->load->config('jquery');

$arr_config = $this->CI->config->item('jq_config');