Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Memory usage question...

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
Any views you load are buffered into RAM, could that explain the extra memory usage? See what happens when you remove the HTML from those files (or rather comment it out with PHP comments).

[eluser]deanf7[/eluser]
I've mostly been autoloading everything I might need, but I was having the same thought you were. It's easier to program things without the manual load, but it might be too much of a performance drag.

It could be the HTML. I have a master template, that pulls the appropriate view into it. I've combined all my CSS into one file, and all my JS(3 largish libraries, jquery, plus some more or less custom libraries) into one file, and minified it. This seemed to speed things up some.
Is it possible to create a header partial and cache it?

Thanks

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
Yes and no. Yes it's possible, but no, it wouldn't work because as soon as you include a file from within a view, it will still be buffered.

[eluser]deanf7[/eluser]
That's too bad about the header partial.

I've discovered, at least one of my bottlenecks was my own stupidity, but in general it seems tied to using redirects instead of explicitly calling a file to load into the template
Code:
redirect('questionnaire/' . $page, 'refresh');
vs.
$this->load->view('template', $data)

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="deanf7" date="1245356400"]Any suggestions general suggestions for reducing memory load on a page running 0 queries, but still using 2,732,616 bytes of memory. I develop on Windows and page loading is fine. The memory usage is very similar when I move it over to our dedicated Linux server, where the app. runs brutally slowly.[/quote]