Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
A little help understanding the controller

[eluser]intoitdaily[/eluser]
Alright so I'm new to CodeIgniter, but I'm learning fast, as it's so easy! But I'm wondering if this certain thing that I'm trying to do is possible.

I have a blog that I built (I originally followed the tutorial but I didn't like the way it was represented so I made my own modifications to better reflect the way a blog is supposed to look). Anyway, http://localhost/mysite/index.php/blog/ brings a list of blog posts. Each title has a link that takes you to http://localhost/mysite/index.php/blog/id/NUMBER (replacing NUMBER with the actual id of the blog entry in the database). Now, what I'd like to do, is be able to take out the /id/ of the URI. Like this: http://localhost/mysite/index.php/blog/3 and display the blog_id_view like it does now, only taking out the /id/... get it?

I tried putting something like this in the index() of the blog controller
Code:
if ($this->uri->segment(2)) {
    // only display single blog entry
    $this->db->where('id', $this->uri->segment(2));
    $this->db->where('published', 1);
    $data['blog_entry'] = $this->db->get('blog');

$this->db->where('blog_post_id', $this->uri->segment(2));
    $data['blog_comments'] = $this->db->get('blog_comments');

$this->load->view('blog_id_view', $data);
}
else {
    // pull up the list of all blog posts as normal...
    $this->db->order_by('id', 'desc');
    $this->db->where('published', 1);
    $data['blog_posts'] = $this->db->get('blog');

$this->load->view('blog_view', $data);
}