Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
ABCD (general-purpose CRUD library)

[eluser]Gerson[/eluser]
Hi everyone!

I’m a Designer who is trying to play with web development using CI. I’ve been trying to build a general-purpose CRUD library to make it easier and faster to develop controllers that interact with a DB without the need of manually writing the cruds or Models to use with ORM libraries (think on it as a super-smart-scaffolding to be used as part of a final project like and CMS, a CRM or whatever you need/want).

• This is not about code generation (yml, symphony, etc);
• This is not about a framework or admin interface/system (Rapyd, etc);
• This is not about database software/administration (CiMyAdmin, etc);
• This is not about form validation;

=> This is about a VERY simple general-purpose Controller/Action CRUD library.

This library already reads the DB table to look for the fields and automatically builds the grid view of the data, the forms to create and edit content and all the needed crud stuff. It's not about generating code, it's a single smart library that does all the job. With few lines of configuration inside the controller you can change how it displays data in the grid and the fields of the form, also specifying the table’s relationships. <= That’s the point where I’m stopped because of my lack of knowledge. It already works with “has one”, but didn’t with “many”. Also, I don’t know how to automatically read the FK information from the DB’s table (even if it’s InnoDB) and create the relationship without the need of at least one line of config code.

I’d like to improve this piece of code and distribute it freely over GPL (just to make mine and everyone's life easier). Would you be interested in contribute with it?

There's no demo available yet.
You can find the source at http://www.gersongoulart.com.br/testsite5.dev.zip

What you'll find out on this zip package:

- The whole CI is already there;