Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Database structure - which one is better?

[eluser]Bonyc[/eluser]
Hi,

Though I am new to PHP and CI, I have some personal projects on my mind. I would like to create a website where there will be to 2 Groups of users. Each registered user from UserGroup 1 can create a single page with different information like a profile page and each user from User Group 2 can view the informations (or the profile page) submitted by users from User Group 1 and contact them if necessary. I just wanted to try it out but I am not sure from where I should start. Please provide me with some guidance on a good database structure and from where I should start. Of course I have watched both the video tutorials here on this website and I am confident that I can build some applications now if only I get some more clue.

Also, if someone has developed a tutorial on how to create a job board scipt, a dating website or product information page, please let me know so that I can learn the approach from there too as I think these kind of websites are similar to my project.

Hope to hear from someone Smile

Thank you,
Bonyc

[eluser]depthcharge[/eluser]
Hi,

There are many Auth libraries discussed on this forum and listed in the wiki, which will provide you with the user/groups feature that you require for your site, You will be able to get an idea of the best way to implement the database by looking at the source code and database structure. The thread discussing these libraries have lots of good information.

[eluser]Bonyc[/eluser]
Thanks depthcharge. I will try to find the information on Auth Libraries now.

Regards,
Bonyc

[eluser]Bonyc[/eluser]
Everything working good so far. I have added the DX_Auth and I have created 3 user groups:

1. Member
2. Moderator
3. Admin