Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
I'm new to PHP, should I use this software?

[eluser]scarhand[/eluser]
Hi I am very new to PHP but I am very passionate about learning it.

I have already learned some basics in regards to MySQL databases and tables, as well as some PHP basics about variables and conditional statements.

I am currently working on coding my own blog. The only code I have written before is a simple contact page that uses sendmail.

My question is, as a newb to PHP should I just jump right into CodeIgniter?

All feedback would be appreciated.

[eluser]Phil Sturgeon[/eluser]
Well yes, it can be a very good way to start. The benefit is that CodeIgnitor will obviously save you a HUGE amount of time and you will skip the need to learn alot of things.

However for the same reason thats good, you can see why its bad. you will not learn many of the things that could prove very helpful in the future.

Also its useful to get to grips exactly with the extent of CI's features. You will spend ages asking on here finding out how to do something with CI which is covered in pure PHP.

IMHO, read ALL of the PHP manual (well, the non-obscure bits) then come here, read it ALL THEN start using CI.

[eluser]Matthew Pennell[/eluser]
I'd agree - learning PHP through the prism of Code Igniter will not make you a competent PHP developer, it will just make you a Code Igniter developer. You need to understand what is going on 'under the hood' to really get the most out of a framework (and the same is true of all language frameworks, such as the JavaScript ones or even .NET).

[eluser]Skulls[/eluser]
learning php through code igniter is like using linux with the visual interface without messing around with the command lines .... Also programing without an algorithmical logic is like copy / paste-ing some stuff without understanding them good.