Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Multiple applications, shared models/libraries/views

[eluser]avanwieringen[/eluser]
I finally subscribed to this forum, after reading a lot Smile

I recently (2 months ago) started learning the CodeIgniter framework and I think it is really awesome. I have 5 years of experience as a self-taught PHP-developer. As a test case I rebuilt the custom-made CMS from my work to CodeIgniter in simply 2 full working days, in the process implementing the Zend_ACL. This convinced me and my boss to transfer everything we have in websites to CodeIgniter. This is great, since it allows me to rewrite and optimize a lot of code that is really old or inefficient and in the process document it, since I will be leaving there in 1 year.

However, I have trouble to work out the basic setup and don't want to be faced with double work, double updating of documents etc.

Here is our setup:
Code:
- main website
  * www.company.nl
  * www.company.co.uk
  * in the future maybe others
- online survey system
  * www.company.nl/enquetes (enquetes = surveys in dutch)
  * www.company.co.uk/surveys (in the future possibly, but this could be simply a routes.php trick)
  * implements ACL
  * uses main website views
- customer portal
  * portal.company.nl
  * implements ACL
  * uses main website views
- project websites
  * project.company.nl
  * implements ACL
- backend for everything (website, surveys, portals, project websites)
  * admin.company.nl
  * implements ACL
  * needs the content-models / survey-models of the website / project / pwebsites etc

As you can see, everything has more or less something in common with each other. And here is my problem.