Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Default Layout

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
[quote author="Dam1an" date="1244649426"]Is it even possible to have a variable start with a number?[/quote]

No, it results in a parse error.

[eluser]mighty_falcon[/eluser]
Thanks for the replies!

I had tried setting $this->data['popular'] = $popular; but no luck. I ended up just doing away with the hook, still extending MY_Controller but instead just calling $this->render($data);

It's one more line so I am not that fussed about it.

[eluser]beckmann[/eluser]
[quote author="Dam1an" date="1244649426"]Jedd seems to have picked up on the main points (as always)
I would just like to say (disclaimer) this was never meant to be widely used code, it was just a 'hack' I posted to help a user... I've since moved to something more complex, and moved it into a seperate library.
[/quote]

I'm new to CI and so far I am loving these forums. Currently I'm working on a project where we wanted a Default View/some nested views so the Template link and the rest of this thread has been helpful.
I am curious though why this code is just a 'hack'. Would modifications like this usually be discouraged in favor of a different approach(such as the template library)? Just wondering as I start my implementation and get ready to ask real questions about the code from this thread.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="beckmann" date="1244775813"]
I'm new to CI and so far I am loving these forums.[/quote]

Hi beckmann, and welcome to the forums.

I think 'hack' is used whenever we look back at code that we'd do slightly differently (this week) - or that we modified to fit into a forum message (or just to fit into the current context of whatever was being discussed).