Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
multiple query results in a view - HELP

[eluser]woracal[/eluser]
Hi all,

I need to use multiple query results in a single view. I'm quite new to CI. Appreciate some help/pointers to sample code.

thanks!

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
in your controller :

Code:
$result = $this->db->get('my_table')->result();
$other_result = $this->db->get('my_other_table')->result();
$this->load->view('my_view',array('result' => $result, 'other_result' => $other_result);

in your view :

Code:
<?php foreach($result as $row): ?>
  <?= $row->field1 ?>
<?php endforeach; ?>
<?php foreach($other_result as $row): ?>
  <?= $row->field1 ?>
<?php endforeach; ?>

[eluser]woracal[/eluser]
thanks a ton!

[eluser]obiron2[/eluser]
Same principle, but may make your code easier to read (personal preferance really)

$pass_to_view['result']= $this->db->get('my_table')->result();
$pass_to_view['other_result'] = $this->db->get('my_other_table')->result();
$this->load->view('my_view',$pass_to_view);

$pass_to_view is then a key=>value array and when it gets to the view, each key will automatically be available as its own variable / array and the view code will be exactly the same.

[eluser]Jamongkad[/eluser]
Nice how would it be possible if you want to display the query from MYSQL in reverse chronological order. Let's say you make a blogging application and you want to have the newest posts displayed at the top of the page first.

[eluser]obiron2[/eluser]
You have two choices.

The first would be to use ksort or usort to sort the data (look it up, there is enough on this board and the interweb to make it work, or the better way would be to sort the results as part of the SQL query.

Code:
Select * from Blogfile where blogger = 'Joe Smith' order by entrydate DESC.

The DESC bit says sort descending.