Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Coding own authorization library

[eluser]Jacob W.[/eluser]
Hi there!
I'm new to CI and love it already. My first project is a rather large group calendar/task management system and I'm starting off by getting the user authentication and authorization to work.

I searched for solutions, but failed to find anything good in particular. I'm wondering which approach would be best here. The only requirement I have is advanced ACL support - I will set access for the different tasks in calendar individually, depending on the users permissions. So I need something quite robust. Can you help me out by pointing me in the right direction? Thanks!
/Jacob

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
Welcome to the CodeIgniter forums. I'm really glad your enjoying CodeIgniter.

There are a lot of ACLs out there, it all depends on your needs. Perhaps [url="http://framework.zend.com/manual/en/zend.acl.html"]Zend ACL[/url] library might do the trick? I haven't used it before, but I've seen lots of ACLs that just don't ever seem to be what I'm looking for, so I thought I'd give it a go at some point. It's quite easy to load Zend libraries from within CodeIgniter. [url="http://www.cmjackson.net/2009/02/17/php-codeigniter-and-lucene/"]This article[/url] demonstrates how to do it with Zend_Search_Lucene, I'd imagine the same principles apply to Zend ACL.

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
Here's roughly what database tables I use for users/acl

Code:
user (uid|email|pass|salt|status)
role (rid|name|description)
user_role (rid|uid)
role_permission (rid|permission)
user_permission (uid|permission)

I think you could extrapolate from that to get a sense of how to build it. Don't know if you've sketched anything out for it, but it's quite simple. (Note: I store permissions in config and can add dynamically if needed)