Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Please help me with my Ajax issue

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I am an Ajax newbie and all I am trying to do is for someone to submit a form and then be notified periodically while processing is being done. So when they submit form process_data gets called but I can never get the process status to work.

//DOES NOT WORK!!!!

Code:
function update_status($status)
    {
$objResponse = new xajaxResponse();
$objResponse->assign("process_status", "innerHTML", $status);
return $objResponse;

}

function process_data($form_data)
    {
               $url="";
        $url=$form_data['url'];
               $this->myclass->update_status("analyzing: ".$url);

//do some processing......
                //update status
                   $this->myclass->update_status("processing complete");
}

//////////////////////////////////////HOWEVER THIS WORK!!

Code:
    {
               $url="";
        $url=$form_data['url'];

$objResponse->assign("process_status", "innerHTML", "analyzing: ".$url);
return $objResponse;

}

[eluser]slowgary[/eluser]
A few tips for getting responses to your questions:

1. Make sure you're posting to the relevant forum/topic. This is a codeigniter forum, but your post doesn't have anything to do with codeigniter, so you'd probably have better luck on a xajax forum.

2. Don't make things more difficult for the people who you need help from. In your case, I would consider formatting your posted code consistently so that it looks less confusing for the people who would help you.

You should format your code like this:

Code:
function update_status($status)
{
     $objResponse->assign("process_status", "innerHTML", $status);

return $objResponse;
}

{
     $url=$form_data['url'];
     $this->myclass->update_status("analyzing: ".$url);

//do some processing......
     //update status
     $this->myclass->update_status("processing complete");
}

and this:
Code:
{
     $url=$form_data['url'];