Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
newbie MVC question - where should header footer code go?

[eluser]Bill the Grue[/eluser]
ok.

I'm still learning, following the tutorials, etc... I want to write my code "correctly". Should my menu and footer code go in my controller or in my view? Right now it's in my controller, and it works fine, but I'm confused if I should be using controller or a view for this stuff (I think I should be using view).

Code:
function index()
    {
        $this->load->helper('url');
        $this->load->view('menu');
        $this->load->view('welcome_message');
        $this->load->view('footer');

}
}

Thank you in advance!

Bill

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Hi Bill,

You are in a small clearing. There is a pile of leaves here.

Your view code - that produces HTML - should be in the views subdirectory.

It's up to you whether you generate view-snippets (feeding them back into variables in your controller code) and then dumping them out later in a main view, or if you generate the common bits (header, footer, etc) in your MY_Controller controller .. but you should generate all actual HTML within a view file, and all logic that wraps around that in your controller(s). Beyond that, I may have misunderstood the scope of your question.

It is likely that you need to read up more on MY_Controller, but that's just a gut feel from the tone of our question more than anything else.

[eluser]Aken[/eluser]
You've got the right idea, but you're wording it in a way that makes you seem confused.

A view is what is going to be displayed - it has all your HTML and variables that will be parsed from the controller to be displayed, etc. A view will only show up if called from the controller.

I do headers/footers in the same way you've done in your example. In my controller, I pull any info I need for my header (titles, meta, etc), then load them into my header view. Then I do all my content, then load the footer view.

[eluser]John_Betong[/eluser]