Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Please help, I get a weird blank screen

[eluser]rainmanx[/eluser]
Hi guys,

I'm dealing with a very weird thing that CodeIgniter does.

I'm working on a project that uses databases, and when I try to autoload the database library, everything goes blank. The controllers start serving completely blank pages, with empty sources, not even a doctype is there...

Is it possible that I have a flaw in my Apache or PHP configuration?

I'm using Windows and I have installed Apache and MySQL as services.

Anyone had this problem before? Please help, thanks!

[eluser]luisjose[/eluser]
Hello, I don't know if I could help you but because I am new to CI but I will try. I succesfuly did a pair of simple aplications with CodeIgniter using databases (one with MySQL and another one with PostgreSQL) and they work fine.
Could you please give a more detailed description of your problem? what do you do exactly to get those blank pages? what do you mean when you say "autoload the database library"?

[eluser]Glen Swinfield[/eluser]
It sounds like there might be a missing file or an incorrect include/require path but the error reporting level is too low to report it - so you get blank pages.

This is just a guess, but a similar thing has happened to me before.

Set error reporting to E_ALL and see if you get an error message - try to force some errors. - look in the error log.

It's difficult to debug if you've got no error message.

[quote author="luisjose" date="1183997929"]Could you please give a more detailed description of your problem? what do you do exactly to get those blank pages? what do you mean when you say "autoload the database library"?[/quote]

Hi luisjose,

Thanks for trying to help.