Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How to tell is this is a user's first visit?

[eluser]FlashChilli[/eluser]
Hi everyone,

I'm new to CodeIgniter and I'm amazed how much faster I can develop PHP with it, I just have two questions.

1. Is there a way to tell if this page load is a user's very first visit to this website? (I'm using the sessions class and Redux Auth). I know that you would need to check if a cookie exists or not but, if it didn't then wouldn't it be created by the session class before your code is executed?

2. Oh dear, I've forgotten my second question. I'm sure I'll remember it soon... I hope : )

[eluser]Yorick Peterse[/eluser]
Use a database, that's the only possible way of doing it. Simply store the IP address. When loading the page check to see if the user's ip is already in the database and you're done.

Oh, I was hoping I wouldn't have to do that as the table could get pretty huge. It doesn't have to be perfect as I only want to count the number of unique visitors and total up how many are using certain browsers, so it's not too bad if some people are counted a few times. To be honest, I'd rather modify the sessions class than use a database but I'm not sure how to.

[eluser]Yorick Peterse[/eluser]
[quote author="FlashChilli" date="1246832223"]Oh, I was hoping I wouldn't have to do that as the table could get pretty huge. It doesn't have to be perfect as I only want to count the number of unique visitors and total up how many are using certain browsers, so it's not too bad if some people are counted a few times. To be honest, I'd rather modify the sessions class than use a database but I'm not sure how to.[/quote]

You can't use the session class as it will expire eventually, unless you would set the expiration time to 1 year (31 536 000 seconds) or something like that.

[eluser]jayrulez[/eluser]