Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
insert into database

[eluser]praveenarya[/eluser]
hi all,
i am new to CI,i worked over year on php4 and now i wanted to develop a shopping cart using framework and really felt good and liked this CI,not doing anything complicated but learning basics
my problem is i have a form i have validated it and now i want to insert those vaues into database but i am getting error
Code:
<?php

class Form extends Controller {

function index()
    {
        $this->load->helper(array('form', 'url'));

$this->load->library('form_validation');

$this->form_validation->set_rules('username', 'Username', 'trim|required|min_length[5]|max_length[12]|xss_clean');
        $this->form_validation->set_rules('password', 'Password', 'trim|required|matches[passconf]|md5');
        $this->form_validation->set_rules('passconf', 'Password Confirmation', 'trim|required');
        $this->form_validation->set_rules('email', 'Email', 'trim|required|valid_email');
        $this->form_validation->set_error_delimiters('<div class="error">', '</div>');

if ($this->form_validation->run() == FALSE)
        {
            $this->load->view('myform');
        }
        else
        {
            $this->load->view('formsuccess');
        }
        $this->load->database();
        $sql = "INSERT INTO exp_pre_email_addresses (name,email,password) VALUES('".$this->db->escape_str($_POST['username'])."','".$this->db->escape_str($_POST['email'])."','".$this->db->escape_str($_POST['password'])."')";
    }
}
?&gt;
i am getting errors can anyone help me
thanks a lot

[eluser]Fatih[/eluser]
Hello praveenarya, welcome to CodeIgniter Forum pages.

Your code is not convenient for MVC idea. You should separate your database works to Model file. Please read these guide pages carefully.

thank you very much for your reply,
i have read this userguide in few hours i think i need to practice those points more 8-/
thank you for a fast reply

[eluser]ggoforth[/eluser]