Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Use of CodeIgnitor with a sub-application

[eluser]Durkin[/eluser]
At the moment I have a basic chat application built with no framework that is very simple to use, with only core features. I am working on a new version, and will be basing it around the Code Igniter framework. My question is, should the chat application be added on to the whole application, or should I rewrite with Code Igniter. As it makes use of AJAX calls frequently to update etc, my real concern is if using a framework (which really isn't needed) for a large quantity of calls will increase the overhead. While I assume that it will increase the overhead, it will be easier to maintain.

As I have no experience with Code Igniter, I've just had a quick look through the documentation, do you mix Code Igniter files and have a sub folder with just normal php, or is this a maintenance nightmare. As it is a chat application, my main thoughts are for speed, however I have no experience as to whether Code Igniter will create a large overhead for requests that don't need the full functionality. Any thoughts?

[eluser]Phil Sturgeon[/eluser]
Will you be including the code for this chat script into the CodeIgniter code or is it just running separately?

[eluser]Durkin[/eluser]
That's what I am trying to work out. As I see it, converting the chat script to work with Code Igniter will make long term maintenance easier simply because it is consistent with the rest of the site, however I assume performance will drop due to the overhead of having a framework. I am just trying to gather views as to whether the maintenance problem will be bad or the overhead is horrible etc. as I haven't used Code Igniter before.

I have only created a rough prototype of the chat program, so rewriting it to be used with Code Igniter isn't a problem.

[eluser]Phil Sturgeon[/eluser]