Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Accessing multi-level arrays stored in Sessions

[eluser]ckeller[/eluser]
I'm in the process of converting an existing app where I stored the session data for a user in this form: $_SESSION['user'][attribute1], $_SESSION['user'][attribute2], etc, in other words, all the user info is stored in the 'user' array in the session.

The problem is, I want to then be able to check for the existence of a value in that user array but there is no way to access that specific $_SESSION['user']['userToken'] item directly through the CI Session library.

I actually had to write a function that takes the 2 parameters and returns the value I want or false if it does not exist.

Am I missing something? Is there a way to store an array in the session and check for a specific value in that array?

(I'm just getting started, thanks).

Chris

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="ckeller" date="1248800226"] ... in other words, all the user info is stored in the 'user' array in the session.[/quote]

Can I ask why? It seems to me that session data is entirely about the user, so why the indirection?

Quote:The problem is, I want to then be able to check for the existence of a value in that user array but there is no way to access that specific $_SESSION['user']['userToken'] item directly through the CI Session library.

Correct - you'd have to write a helper or something in MY_Controller if you want to have your function pervasively available.

Have you considered just pulling session data out of the 2D array?

[eluser]ckeller[/eluser]
The reason I do things this way is because I do have other data stored in the session pertinent to the app sometimes. However, I also want the flexibility to either reload the entire user array from the user table (such as if they logged in), and if I ever needed to unset just that user info, I could just unset that array and not lose what else is in the other session variables.