Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Trouble implementing a new controller in an existing project.

[eluser]henryboy[/eluser]
OK, so I'm new to Codeigniter, but I've been programming for many years.

Here is my issue. I'm working on some existing Codeigniter code, I am trying to implement a new controller but cannot get it working. Right now I have 2 existing controllers that do work. Controller1 is set to default and works fine. The other works by accessing it at site.com/controller2/. So if I copy controller2.php (contents is just a simple hello world index function) to controller3.php, and edit the class name should I not get a working site.com/controller3/? Currently it defaults to a custom file not found page.

Where do I need to look first to find out where things are getting redirected?

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Hi henryboy and welcome to the CI forums.

If you're using the standard, recommended, PHP-4 safe method of constructor names - you'll need to change that line as well as the Class line. Without seeing some code it's hard to offer further insights. It might be a permissions problem (unlikely) or .. well, any other number of unlikely causes.

Thanks for the welcome. This is the contents of my non-working controller file: testing.php

Code:
<?php

class Testing extends Controller {

function index() {
                parent::Controller();
        echo 'Hello World';
    }

}

?>

The working controller is identical with a different filename and class name. Keep in mind the working controller was already existing, I just replaced it with the simple function for testing purposes. Permissions are identical. Not sure what you mean by changing the other line if using PHP-4 safe mode constructors.

Thanks.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="henryboy" date="1248916782"]
Code:

function index() {
        echo 'Hello World';
    }
}
[/quote]