Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Create my own helper

[eluser]Packe[/eluser]
Hi,

I'm new to CI and trying to learn it. My questions may have been already asked but I'm not sure what to search for.

I am trying to create my own helper which shall be looking up values in the database. I will have several idConfused from a few tables and I want to lookup the names for these values. For that I want to create a generic helper that will not be locked to a single table.

Here is my code:

Code:
<?php
    function db_lookup($table,$column,$id)
    {
        $query = $this->db->query("SELECT ".$column." FROM ".$table." where id=".$id."");
        $row = $query->row();
        return $row->$column;
    } ?>

When using it, I am getting "Fatal error: Using $this when not in object context in..." on the line with $this->db_query.

What am I doing wrong and what shall I do instead?

And do you have some general tips when creating helpers?

Thanks in advance!

[eluser]Dam1an[/eluser]
The problem is that the helper is not in the scope of the CI super object, to get around this in helpers (and libraries) see the section on Utilizing CodeIgniter Resources within Your Library

Edit: Opps, completely missed that there's DB activity taking place outside a model, naughty me

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="Packe" date="1249139669"]For that I want to create a generic helper that will not be locked to a single table. [/quote]

Hi Packe and welcome to the CI forums.

I think this question exposes a flaw in your understanding of the way CI, or rather the MVC architecture, is meant to work.

The code snippet you provided is something you really shouldn't ever need to implement. It subverts the intent of the model component of your application - which is to abstract your database, or if you prefer, to provide a consistent front-end to all your database needs. A one-stop shop, and all that.