Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
File structure

[eluser]Svante Hansson[/eluser]
After reading up and sucessfully made a guestbook I've realised that it's hard for me to structure the file names. E.g I used one controller for it all which might work for a guestbook but I would be making a community I doubt I'd be using just one.

For the guestbook I used
/controllers/guestbook_controller.php
/views/guestbook_view.php
/views/guestbook_formsucess_view.php
/models/guestbook_model.php

which were quite messy for me as a beginner.

Lets say I would do a photo gallery, how would I structure it? If we keep it simple;
I'd need a login/registration presumably/upload (when logged in)/view gallery/pagination/profile? page

What would be models, views and controllers? Do I even need models? I'm new to this MVC concept (and to frameworks) so I am just trying to puzzle together how I would structure a project.

Thanks in advance.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Hi Svante and welcome to the CI forums.

I think in general your controllers should be more human readable, as they are part of the URL that everyone sees. If you need to use a suffix (I hate them, personally) then use it on the models. Ie rather than this:

Quote:For the guestbook I used
/controllers/guestbook_controller.php

... use controllers/guestbook.php and perhaps models/guestbook_model.php

As I say, though, I hate that approach, and would rather come up with a near-synonym for the model/controller relationship - or better yet, have a model that abstracts my data, and a controller that abstracts my functions. Starts to sound a bit zen, though, huh?

Quote:Lets say I would do a photo gallery, how would I structure it? If we keep it simple;
I'd need a login/registration presumably/upload (when logged in)/view gallery/pagination/profile? page

I'd have a controller called gallery probably, and a model called image or photo.