Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI Sessions

[eluser]MrCrooked[/eluser]
I'm new to CodeIgniter and I'm really liking it so far! :wow: Yesterday for the first time I ran into some troubles with the CI sessions. To be honest I haven't tried to understand the complete source of the session library yet, only parts. Let me explain my problem by an example:
I have a page with a Java applet which can set up a http connection and post some variables and an image. The posting itself works fine. What happens is that the applet takes it's own session and after I leave the applet page that session will generate a new one too. So if I start with no sessions in my database and I log in and go to the applet page everything is working fine and I have 1 session in my database. I can just leave the page and it uses the same session. But when I use the applet to POST, the applet gets it's own session and the applet page session isn't valid anymore. Does anyone know why this happens?

[eluser]Yash[/eluser]
its a mess for me. even I can't go inside your problem.

You should read how set and get a session key. When you set a key
Code:
<?php $this->session->set_userdata('key','value') ?>

get a key

Code:
<?php $this->session->userdata('key') ?>

now whenever you want to create new session just destroy old one. Session lib has those functs. check out user guide and read it carefully.

I don't think you understand my problem, I'll try to explain it better. When I visit my applet page with a browser and login. Then a record is created in the session database. But when I use the applet to do a POST request(it sets up it's own HTTP connection) then this connection will have it's own session record as well. When I return to my applet page in my browser and navigate away from the applet page to another page, it will create a new record in the session database, meaning I lost all my session userdata.