Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Newbie Needs Help - Please

[eluser]daniel_ferry[/eluser]
I've spent two days trying to get CI to work on my domain, with no luck. I am hoping someone will be kind enough to get me past this hurdle so I can start learning the framework.

I've been programming for 20 years (VB, JavaScript, ASP), but I want to now learn PHP and from my research CI appears the best way to go.

I have been trying to follow the Controllers tutorial in the User Guide and cannot even get the "Hello World" working. Always get 404 errors. I tried the suggestions under Troubleshooting, and many different online suggestions, but nothing seems to fix the problem.

I have all the files installed on the root of my domain. If someone will be so kind as to take a look and tell me what is wrong, I would really appreciate it!

domain: mathkings.com
ftp: ftp.mathkings.com
pw: Puebloman4863

Thank you very much in advance!

Regards,

Daniel

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Hi Daniel, and welcome to the CI forums.

Looking at your site - [url="http://mathkings.com"]mathkings.com[/url] - it looks like the base install is working just fine. What are the controller(s) names that you've created, and/or methods within those, that you're trying to hit?

Possibly a bit sanguine to post login credentials for your site here .. but you didn't mention login name, so that might slow some people down Wink

[eluser]Dam1an[/eluser]
As jedd mentioned, homepage looks fine, but index.php/welcome/index doesn't... so I'd try the differant URI protocols under config/config.php

And be sure to change you're password as well now that it's published here for ever (should anyone guess your username)

Sorry about forgetting the user name. It is: dbferry

I will be changing these after I get this resolved.

I've already tried all of the various options for the URI protocols under config/config.php. This is why I am posting here for help.