Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
File Upload

[eluser]doubleplusgood[/eluser]
Hello,

I'm relatively new to CodeIgniter and have just started designing a site for a printing company. They want to provide functionality for clients to upload artwork through a client login, that would then be available for them to print.

I have obviously built a client login and profile page, but i'm not sure of the best way to go about enabling upload of files for clients in such a way that the clients only see their own files uploaded.

The administrators of the print company would also need to be able to upload files to appear on the client's profile page. I think perhaps the files would be uploaded to the file system and the path stored in the database against that client's name.

Has anyone built a similar system to this before and could provide some advice?

Thank you very much.

[eluser]bigtony[/eluser]
This can present a problem, since if anyone guesses the full url to an uploaded file they can access it via the address bar and bypass your authentication (e.g. www.mysite.com/uploads/filename1.jpg).

A couple of approaches:

1. Store the uploads outside of the webroot, so the files cannot be accessed via the address bar. Then a controller can read the file contents and issue a force_download().

2. If you can't store outside webroot, you could use 'encrypt_name' on the uploded file name (see [url="http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/libraries/file_uploading.html"]http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/libraries/file_uploading.html[/url]). This should prevent anyone from guessing a name that isn't theirs, but you have to put up with an ugly file name (although you could again use force_download() and change it's name upon download).

[eluser]BrianDHall[/eluser]