Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Basic problem with my controllers, i hope theres an easy solution...

[eluser]Brokenegg.wb[/eluser]
Hey guys, Thanks in advance for any help.

So i'm new to CI, and Ive been running though the tutorials that i can find (both on and off the site) but i keep running into an issue with the basic Controllers.... basically I'm trying to get access to my file @ /index.php/home . however despite my best efforts it's not showing up. Ive copied and pasted the coding from the documentation, and still it won't work. the interesting thing is that if i set my 'home' controller as the default, it shows up just fine, however when i try to access it via /index.php/home it comes up with a 404 - page not found error... is there a basic catch that I'm missing?
here is my code:

home.php (located in my 'controller' folder under 'application':
Code:
<?php
class Home extends Controller {

function index()
    {
        $data['welcome_msg']= 'We are currently under construction,<br />please check back on September 19th to see the Updated Site!';
        $this->load->view('home', $data);
    }
}
?&gt;

any ideas?
Thanks,
Watson

[eluser]Aken[/eluser]
Do you have an .htaccess file in your web root (or root CI folder)? It may be playing tricks on your URLs. D you get a 404 error from your web server (usually an Apache notice) or from CodeIgniter?

Otherwise from a base install of CI, there should be no reason why you can't access it both as the default controller and from index.php/home.

i don't have an .htaccess file yet, and the 404 error is coming from CI (i think, it just says "404 error *in red*" and "Page not found *in black*") i also checked the documentation for trouble shooting and changed my URI Protocol info to :"index.php?"; . to no avail however... am i missing something in the System requirements? I was under the impression you just needed PHP 4.someodd or higher and MYsql...

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]